Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland – Lewis Carroll

I will start off with my favorite dialogue from the book. It’s from the chapter ‘A Mad Tea-Party’. It’s between Alice and the Mad Hatter (you know him).

  ‘We quarrelled last March – just before he went mad, you know –  ‘(pointing with his teaspoon at the March Hare) ‘ – it was at the great concert given by the Queen of Hearts, and I had to sing.

… (I skipped the song that the Hatter sang)

  ‘Well, I’d hardly finished the first verse’, said the Hatter, ‘when the Queen jumped up and bawled out, “He’s murdering the time! Off with his head!” ‘

  ‘How dreadfully savage!’ exclaimed Alice.

  ‘And ever since that’, the Hatter went on in a mournful tone, ‘he won’t do a thing I ask! It’s always six o’clock now.’

  A bright idea came into Alice’s head. ‘It’s the reason so many tea-things are put out here?’, she asked.

  ‘Yes, that’s it’, said the Hatter with a sigh: ‘it’s always teatime, and we’ve no time to wash the thing between whiles.’

My grandmother used to read this to me when I was little. Sometimes she even drew the pictures from the book for me. The story was fun when I was young, but now all I can say is that this book is crazy. Although it’s meant for children, this is my favorite book.

I’m sure you’ve all watched the Disney version of Alice, and maybe even some of the movies. So, we all know what happens. But anyway, here’s a

  Short summary

  While Alice and her sister are sitting on a riverbank, a white rabbit passes right by them. The strange thing is that the rabbit wears a waistcoat and pulls out a pocket watch exclaiming that he is late!

  Alice decides to follow him, and the next thing she knows, she is falling down a rabbit hole. And this is where her adventure in Wonderland starts.

  She meets very strange creatures, a rabbit with a pocket watch, a Cheshire cat that speaks and disappears, the Queen of Hearts, the Mad Hatter, a baby that turns into a pig… 

  And, she also changes her size a few times.

While reading this I am sure that you will ask yourself, what kind of drugs did the author used.

It’s not important if you know the whole story, you must read this.

PS: The photo is from Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland movie (2010)

S.S.

Leave a Reply

